What is a Scholarship?

A scholarship is financial support awarded to a student, based on academic achievement or other criteria that may include financial need, for the purpose of schooling.

Available Scholarships

Elizabeth Ann Seton

The Elizabeth Ann Seton Scholarship pays homage to the legacy of Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first native-born American saint, and a pioneering figure in American Catholicism who devoted a significant portion of her life to serving the poor and those in need. 

In 1809, Elizabeth Ann Seton founded the first religious community for women in the United States. Under her direction, the community played a crucial role in developing orphanages, hospitals, and schools, providing care and education to impoverished individuals. Today, we continue to feel the lasting impacts of Mother Seton’s dedication to providing material, spiritual, and emotional assistance to those who needed it most. The Elizabeth Ann Seton Scholarship is designed to help support students who share a similar commitment to service and a profound ministerial promise. To be eligible, students must be part of the Archdiocese of Chicago, and demonstrate a strong desire to fulfill their calling to serve the Church and contribute to the broader community, reflecting the spirit of Elizabeth Ann Seton’s life and work.

George Cardinal Mundelein

The School of Parish Leadership and Evangelization is delighted to present the George Cardinal Mundelein Scholarship. This scholarship stands as a testament to our dedication to fostering excellence in theological education and pastoral studies and to our commitment to ‘sending dioceses.’

The George Cardinal Mundelein scholarship is named in honor of the legacy of the third Archbishop of Chicago and re-founder of the University of Saint Mary of the Lake home to Mundelein Seminary.

As a scholarship exclusive to students enrolled in either the Masters of Theological Studies or Masters of Pastoral Studies program, eligibility requires affiliation with a diocese that seminarians to Mundelein (i.e., a sending diocese), along with active enrollment in work or worship within that diocese. The George Cardinal Mundelein Scholarship is valued at up to $11,000 per academic year and is renewable for the duration of the program.

The University of Saint Mary of the Lake has a relationship with The Dennis and Nina B. Jones Scholarship Trust, which provides fundingfor Roman Catholic priests and religious. The trust officer has invited new applications for these scholarship monies.

Only priests and professed religious who are enrolled in degree programs are eligible for a grant from the Trust. Completed applications are to be submitted to the Rector’s office ( Application forms must be submitted by August 30.

How to Apply

In order to receive additional information regarding the George Cardinal Mundelein or the Elizabeth Ann Seton application process, you must fill out the application form.

For questions about scholarships, please contact Leah Lewandowski at or 847-970-4981.