Home // Pontifical Faculty of Theology

Pontifical Faculty of Theology

The international academic degrees of the Catholic Church are the baccalaureate, the licentiate, and doctorate in theology. These are abbreviated as S.T.B. (Sacred Theology Baccalaureate), S.T.L. (Sacred Theology Licentiate) and S.T.D. (Sacred Theology Doctorate).

On September 30, 1929, the Sacred Congregation of Seminaries and Universities (now known as the Congregation for Catholic Education) established a Pontifical Faculty of Theology at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake, Mundelein, Illinois. The Faculty was authorized to grant Pontifical degrees initially for a period of five years, and on September 21, 1934, this authorization was made permanent.

The Statutes of the Pontifical Faculty of Theology set forth the governance and policies of the faculty. They were revised in light of the apostolic constitution, Gaudium veritatis, and were approved ad decennium by the Congregation for Catholic Education in 2022.

These pages outline the S.T.B., S.T.L., and S.T.D. programs offered by the Pontifical Faculty at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake.

The S.T.B. program is reserved for seminarians.