Pontifical Faculty of Theology

Welcome to the home page of the Pontifical Faculty of Theology here at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake.

On September 30, 1929, the Sacred Congregation of Seminaries and Universities (now known as the Congregation for Catholic Education) established a Pontifical Faculty of Theology at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake, Mundelein, Illinois. The Faculty was authorized to grant Pontifical degrees initially for a period of five years, and on September 21, 1934, this authorization was made permanent.

The Statutes of the Pontifical Faculty of Theology set forth the governance and policies of the faculty. They were revised in light of the apostolic constitution, Sapientia Christiana, and were approved ad decennium by the Congregation for Catholic Education on 24 June 2006.

These pages outline the S.T.B., S.T.L., and S.T.D. programs offered by the Pontifical Faculty.

I would like to thank you for your interest in our programs.

Fr. John Kartje