USML | About Us


About Us

Office of Institutional Advancement

At Mundelein Seminary, our mission is to partner with donors in providing philanthropic support to build a greater University of Saint Mary of the Lake.

Core Values

1. Passion for Mundelein Seminary: The generosity of alumni and friends influences the very fabric of Mundelein, helping the seminary advance the mission of educating and forming parish priests. We are dedicated to serving the seminary and helping it achieve its aspirations. The gifts we receive and manage serve as links to the seminary’s past, present and future.

2. Partnership with Donors: Our donors empower us to accomplish our mission. We pledge to faithfully administer their gifts, adhere to their philanthropic intent and respect their request for privacy. We are privileged to work with donors, and we are committed to treating them with integrity, fairness, professionalism and gratitude.

3. Perpetual Support: The long-term vitality of Mundelein Seminary represents our ultimate, unwavering goal. We strive to wisely invest funds and steward property, balancing risk and potential returns, with the goal of achieving the greatest possible assurance of long-term financial support for the university. We endeavor to prudently manage and deploy our resources, and we stand accountable for our policies and results.

4. People-Centered Approach: Our team of employees, trustees and volunteers guides our present and shapes our future. We seek to attract and develop the best talent, value each individual’s unique contributions and celebrate diversity as a strength. We encourage a strong work ethic in an atmosphere of collaboration, openness, professionalism and mutual respect.

Staff Directory

Click here to donate online

Click here to download our donation form to mail

Office of the Vice President:

Ryan K. Butts, CFRE
Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Kimberly Obaid
Adminstrative Assistant



Staff Directory:

Pamela Devitt
Sr. Advancement Officer, Live Events and Direct Marketing

Diana Fletcher
Donor Relations Associate

Karen Oster
Donor Services Coordinator

Mary Hill
Advancement Volunteer

Angela Pasyk
Digital Marketing Manager

Bonnie Pijut
Administrative Assistant

Kathleen Quinlan
Donor Relations Director

Harve L. Schlachter
Director of Planned Giving


  Most Reverend Blase J. Cupich, Chancellor

  Very Reverend John Kartje, Rector/President

 Board of Advisors

  Mr. William H. McEssy, Chairman of the Board 


  Mr. Thomas P. Brown

Most Reverend William P. Callahan, OFM, Conv., Bishop of La Crosse, WI

  Mr. James L. Claus

  Most Reverend R. Daniel Conlon, Bishop of Joliet, IL

  Mrs. Hillary A. Ebach

  Mr. Owen G. Glennon

  Mr. Joseph M. Guinan, Jr.

  Mr. Richard J. Guzior  

  Most Reverend Gerald F. Kicanas, D.D., Bishop of Tucson, AZ

  Mrs. Julie Jansen Kraemer

  Most Reverend Jerome E. ListeckiArchbishop of Milwaukee, WI

  Most Reverend Joseph F. Naumann, D.D., Archbishop of Kansas City, KS

  Reverend Donald J. Nevins

  Most Reverend Thomas John Paprocki, Bishop of Springfield, IL

  Ms. Tonise Paul

  Mrs. Mary L. Paluch Rafferty

  Most Reverend George J. Rassas, Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago, IL

  Most Reverend David L. Ricken, D.D., J.C.L., Bishop of Green Bay, WI

  Very Reverend Peter Snieg

  Most Reverend Joseph J. Tyson, Bishop of Yakima, WA

  Most Reverend David J. Walkowiak, J.C.D. Bishop of Grand Rapids, MI

  Reverend John J. Wall          

  Mr. Ernest Waud, III  


Faculty/Administration Members                                                  

  Very Reverend Thomas A. Baima                                                            

   Mr. Ryan K. Butts                                   

  Reverend Brian Welter

  Mr. Clayton Kalweit  

  Mr. John F. Lehocky  

  Dr. Elizabeth Nagel  

  Reverend James Presta  


To see this video you need to upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser or download Adobe Flash Player.