Congratulations to the 22 New Deacons of the Archdiocese of Chicago

Posted on May 10, 2021

On May 8 Cardinal Blase Cupich, Archbishop of Chicago, ordained 11 candidates for the Archdiocese of Chicago from Mundelein Seminary, the Institute for Diaconal Studies and the Instituto de Liderazgo Pastoral to the Diaconate at Holy Name Cathedral at 10 a.m. and Bishop Robert G. Casey ordained 11 candidates at 2 p.m. for the Archdiocese of Chicago. Please keep all of these new deacons in your prayers as they embark on this vital ministry and continue along their vocational paths.


Instituto de Liderazgo Pastoral

  • José Adán-Bernabé
  • Alfredo Alviar
  • Simón Pedro Anguiano
  • Pedro Benítez
  • José Joaquín Figueroa
  • José Osmín Oporto
  • Miguel Angel Ramos
  • Gustavo Rebolledo
  • Rafael Romaní
  • Jorge Soto
  • Ramón Velázquez

Institute for Diaconal Studies 

  • John Robert Burnett
  • Timothy W Davidson
  • Kevin Michael Kucik
  • John Joseph Murray
  • Derek Kipling Oliver
  • David James Schuster
  • Robert John Velcich
  • Jake Leo Vercimak
  • Philip Robert Wroblewski

Mundelein Seminary

  • Michael Klatt
  • Brother Joseph Brom, SJC

Ordination to the Diaconate (10:00 a.m.)

Ordination to the Diaconate (2:00 p.m.)

*More photos will be added to this page soon.*