Congratulations to Our Candidates for Holy Orders

Posted on September 1, 2017

Thirty-six seminarians declared candidacy for Holy Orders at the Mass of the Holy Spirit held in our Chapel of the Immaculate Conception with Cardinal Blase J. Cupich. In addition to the Rite of Admission to Candidacy, Sister Kathleen Mitchell and Deacon Patrick Quagliana took the Profession of Faith and the Oath of Fidelity and we also welcomed Paluch Lecturer Dr. Lisa Sung, a Reformed Theologian. The community also prayed, by name, for those who have left the seminary in the past year.

Admission to Candidacy for Holy Orders has two aspects. An aspirant publicly declares that he is committing himself to a program of formation for service to God and to the Catholic Church as an ordained minister, and the Catholic Church, represented by Cardinal Cupich, publicly accepts the aspirant into the ranks of a candidate for Holy Orders.

Acceptance into the ranks of candidates does not constitute a right to receive ordination to the diaconate or priesthood. Rather, it is the first official recognition on the part of the church that there are preliminary signs of a vocation to Holy Orders that remain to be confirmed in subsequent years of formation.

The men approved for candidacy are:

Michael A. Barbarossa – Seattle, WA

Ryan Patrick Brady – Chicago, IL

Martin Patrick Coolidge – Dubuque, IA

Julian Eduardo Cortes – Chicago, IL

Mitchell Edward Dietrich – Grand Rapids, MI

Jacob Aloysius Dunne – Dubuque, IA

Mauricio Espino – Las Vegas, NV

Nathan Patrick Ford – Canons Regular of St. John Cantius

Cristian Enrique Garcia Nuño – Chicago, IL

Zygmunt Thomas Gross – Green Bay, WI

Jeffrey Christian Grossich – Chicago, IL

Francis Kwabena Gyau – Las Cruces, NM

John Tu Hoang – San Jose, CA

Joseph B. Janidlo IV – Canons Regular of St. John Cantius

Michael Jeffrey Kelly – Yakima, WA

Robain Mondial Lamba Binawoe – San Jose, CA

Christopher Harold Landfried – Chicago, IL

Michael Anthony Lingaur – Gaylord, MI

Seth Ryan Lorenz – Lubbock, TX

Dennis Laserna Marcos – Tucson, AZ

Andrew William Matijevic – Chicago, IL

Falasiko Matovu – Kiyinda-Mityana, Uganda

Colm Brian Mitchell – Chicago, IL

Raciel Ortiz-Juarez – Chicago, IL

Nicholas Robert Radloff – Dubuque, IA

Robert Steven Ryan – Chicago, IL

Leonel Sepulveda – Chicago, IL

Noah Isaac Thelen – Grand Rapids, MI

Benjamin Robert Thomsen – Atlanta, GA

Kyle Thomas Tietz – Dubuque, IA

Victor Marie Trinidad – San Jose, CA

Daniel Mauricio Villalobos – Chicago, IL

Juan Carlos Villota Viteri – Atlanta, GA

Joseph Edward Wagner – Atlanta, GA

Peter Walasimbi – Kiyinda-Mityana, Uganda

Eric Joseph Zenisek – Dubuque, IA

“The Church accepts your resolve with joy. May God who has begun the good work in you bring it to fulfillment.”

Photos by Declan McNicholas, Diocese of Gary, IN