Jubilarians from Classes of 1969 and 1994 Celebrate Ordination Anniversary

Posted on April 29, 2019

On a beautiful spring day, we were blessed to welcome members of the Class of 1969 and the Class of 1994 back to campus to celebrate the jubilee anniversary of their ordination.

Cardinal Blase Cupich celebrated A Mass of Thanksgiving concelebrated by the jubilarians, the auxiliary bishops of the Archdiocese of Chicago, the priest faculty of Mundelein Seminary and honored guest priests. Mass was followed by a lunch reception where several alumni priests offered reflections on their time at seminary and the years of priestly ministry that followed.

“We didn’t come to Mundelein because we knew we wanted to be priests,” said Father Patrick Kalich (Class of 1994) pastor of St. Mary Catholic Church in Crown Pointe, Indiana in the Diocese of Gary. “We came to Mundelein because we didn’t know if we wanted to be priests–but we didn’t know loudly enough that we needed to find out.”

Click the player below to hear Cardinal Cupich’s homily and browse photos from the event.

Priest Jubilarians of the Class of 1969

Reverend Michael P. Ahlstrom

Reverend Monsignor John F. Canary

Reverend Bronislaus Chmiel

Reverend Joseph C. Curtis

Reverend Michael J. Gilligan

Reverend Edward D. Gleeson

Reverend Robert J. Heidenreich

Most Reverend Francis J. Kane

Reverend Kenneth G. Kiepura

Reverend Valerian Laini

Reverend Medard P. Laz

Reverend Thomas A. Libera

Reverend Matthias E. Lorenz

Reverend John P. Lucas

Reverend Edward J. McCarthy

Reverend Steven W. Patte

Reverend Leon J. Rezula

Reverend Richard E. Sztorc

Reverend Raymond J. Tillrock

Reverend Edward F. Upton

Reverend Joseph J. Wojcik

Reverend William J. Zavaski


Reverend John Boyle

Reverend William Curran

Reverend Lawrence M. Duris

Reverend Donald Joseph Lund

Reverend Ralph Starus

Priest Jubilarians of the Class of 1994

Reverend John B. Atoyebi

Reverend Brian W. Barker

Very Reverend Michael D. Barth

Most Reverend Mark A. Bartosic

Reverend Thomas A. Bernas

Very Reverend David A. Boettner

Most Reverend Robert G. Casey

Reverend Monsignor Daniel J. Deutsch

Reverend Monsignor Richard W. Gilles

Reverend Michael A. Hawken

Most Reverend Ronald A. Hicks

Reverend Thomas J. Holder

Reverend Terrance M. Johnson

Reverend Patrick J. Kalich

Reverend Thomas Machao

Reverend Leo G. McDowell

Reverend Michael G. McGovern

Reverend Thanh N. Nguyen

Reverend David A. Peck

Reverend Thomas G. Refermat

Reverend Leo A. Rigatuso

Reverend J. M. Rotert

Reverend Stanley T. Schmit

Reverend Michael R. Schneider

Reverend Maximus Ssekiwala

Reverend David R. Straub

Reverend Aloys H. Temu

Reverend Joe H. Tonos

Reverend Joseph M. Wolf


Reverend John R. Auby

Reverend Gregory K. Ketcham