USML | Convocation 2015

Academic Affairs

Convocation 2015

The Story of Academic Costume

Academic dress is part of the beauty of our degree ceremonies.  Learn about the origins and contemporary customs surrounding academic costume.

More information to come.

Institute List

The Seminary and Graduate School

The major seminary of the Archdiocese of Chicago prepares men for the diocesan priesthood and offers advanced ministerial training to all in ministry.

The Pontifical Faculty of Theology

The Pontifical Theological Faculty of Theology at Mundelein was established in 1926 and is empowered by a charter from the Holy See to grant all of the academic degrees of the Catholic Church.

The Liturgical Institute

The Liturgical Institute exists to promote the liturgical life of the Church through degree programs, publishing, conferences and special projects.

Institute for Diaconal Studies

The Institute offers certificate programs for a men preparing for ordination as deacons in the Archdiocese of Chicago

Institute for Lay Formation

The Institute offers two certificates, one in lay leadership and the other for the training and preparation of lay ecclesial ministers

Institute for Ongoing Formaton

The Institute offers a certificate in Catechetical Leadership preparing coordinators of religious education, school principles and youth ministers to apply for certification by the Archdiocese in educational ministry.

Instituto de Liderazgo Pastoral

The Instituto offers certificate programs in lay leadership, deacon formation, pastoral ministry and catechetical leadership for the Hispanic community.

Institute for Priestly Formation

 The University of Saint Mary of the Lake is the degree granting institution for the Institute for Priestly Formation.  The S. T.L. degree is offered in the Spirituality of the Diocesan Priest.



Administration and Faculty

Ecclesiastical Authority


His Excellency, Blase J. Cupich, S.T.D. 
Archbishop of Chicago


The Very Rev. Robert Barron, M.A., S.T.D.
Rector / President

The Rev. Thomas A. Baima, M.B.A., S.T.D.
Vice Rector for Academic Affairs

The Rev. James Presta, M.Div.Provost

Seminary and Graduate School of Theology

The Very Rev. Robert Barron, M.A., S.T.D.

The Rev. James Presta, S.T.D..
Vice Rector for Seminary Administration

The  Rev.  Ronald Hicks, D.Min.
Dean of Formation

The Rev. Thomas A. Baima, M.B.A., S.T.D.
Academic Dean

Ecclesiastical Faculty of Theology

The Rev. John G. Lodge, S.S.L., S.T.D.

Liturgical Institute

The Rev. Douglas A. Martis, Ph.D., S.T.D.

Institute for Diaconal Studies

Dcn. Robert Puhala, M.A.

Institute for Ongoing Formation

The Rev. Martin Zielinski, Ph.D.
Vice President and Director

Institute for Lay Formation

Linda Couri, M.S.W., L.C.S.W.

Institutio de Liderazgo Pastoral

Nelly Lorenzo, M.Div.

University Vice Presidents

Rev. James Presta, S.T.D. 
Chief Campaign and Stewardship Officer

John Lehocky, C.P.A., M.B.A.
Vice President of Finance

Stanley C. Rys, M.B.A.
Vice President of Facilities

Mark J. Teresi, M.P.S., M.A., CFRE
Vice President of Institutional Advancement

Faculty of the Seminary and Graduate School of Theology

*Rev. Peter Damian Akpunonu, S.S.L., S.T.D.

*Rev. Thomas A. Baima, M.B.A., S.T.D.

Rev. Martin Barnum, D.Min.

*Melanie Barrett, Ph.D., S.T.D. (Cand.)

*Rev. Robert Barron,  M.A. (Phil.),  S.T.D.

Rev. August J. Belauskas,  M.A., S.T.L.

Rev. Jacque B. Beltran, S.T.B., D.Min. (Cand.)

*Rev. Patrick J. Boyle, S.J., M.A. Ph.L., S.T.L., Ph.D.

Linda Cerabona, M.A.

Rev. Christopher Ciomek, M.Div., D.Min. (Cand.)

*Rev. Emery de Gaál, Diplom. Theol., Ph.D.

Rev. John T. Dillon, M.Ed.

*Rev. John V. Dolciamore, S.T.L., J.C.L.

Thomas Dougherty, B.A.

Rev. Kevin J. Feeney, M.Div., M.A.S., D.Min. (Cand.)

Rev. Thomas Franzman, M.Div.

*Rev. Michael Fuller, S.T.D.

*Rev. W. Scott Hebden, S.T.D.

*Rev. Lawrence R. Hennessey, S.T.L., Ph.D.

Paul Hilliard, Ph.D.

*Rev. Ronald Kunkel, S.T.L., S.T.D. (Cand.)

*Rev. John G. Lodge,  S.S.L., S.T.D.

*Very Rev. Dennis J. Lyle,  S.T.D. 

*Rev. Douglas Martis, Ph.D., S.T.D.

Christopher McAtee, D.Min.

Denis R. McNamara, Ph.D.

*Rev. Charles R. Meyer, M.A., S.T.D.

*Elizabeth Nagel, S.S.D.

*Rev. Edward Oakes, S.J., Ph.D.

*Lorraine Olley, M.A. Div., M.A.L.S.

Rev. Patrick O’Malley, S.T.L.

*Rev. Robert L. Schoenstene, M.A., S.S.L.

Rev. Daniel S. Siwek, S.T.L.

Rev. John S. Szmyd, S.T.B., M.Div.

*Rev. Raymond J. Webb, M.A., S.T.L., Ph.D.

Kathleen Wiskus, D.Min.

*Rev. Richard J. Wojcik, M.A., S.T.L., M.C.G.

*Rev. Martin A. Zielinski,  M.Div., Ph.D.


                                         * denotes members of the Ecclesiastical Faculty of Theology


Distinguished and Visiting Faculty

Chester and Margaret Paluch Professor of Theology

 Sister Sara Butler, MSBT, S.T.L., Ph.D.

Francis Cardinal George, O.M.I. Professor of Faith and Culture

Rev. Robert E. Barron, M.A. (Phil.), S.T.D.


Albert Cardinal Meyer Lecturer

Rev. Kevin FitzGerald, S.J., Ph.D.


Service Faculty


Philip Addante, M.S.W.

Joseph Fortunato, Ph.D.

Jerry Girdaukas, Ph.D.

Lois Guebert, M.L.S.


University Registrar

Mary Ann Ulz, B.B.A.



Adjunct Faculty

Rev. Michael Bradley, J.C.D.

Michael Cahill, Ph.D.

Christopher Carstens, M.A.

Rev. Edward Cronin, M.Div.

Mr. Michael J. Dowling, M.Div., D.Min. (Cand.)

Rev. Laurence Dunn, M.A.

Robin Hilliard, B.A.

Sr. Magdalena Karecki, SSJ-TOSF, D.Th.

Most Rev.  James P. Keleher, D.D., S.T.D.

Rev. Henry Kricek, M.A., S.T.L.

James Neal, M.A.

Rev. Anthony O’Connell, O.S.M., Ph.D.

Most Rev. Joseph Perry, D.D., J.C.L.

Maria Roche, M.A.

Rev. Patrick Rugen, M.Div.

Rev. Daniel Smilanic, J.C.D.


Adjunct Spiritual Directors


Rev. Michael Ahlstrom, M.Div.

Rev. James Donovan, M.Div., M.C.Sp.

Rev. Robert S. Flack, S.J., Ph.D.

Rev. James Murphy, M.Div.

Rev. Edward Panek, M.Div.

Rev. Dennis Zalecki, M.Div.


Pastoral Internship Supervisors

Rev. Edwin Anderson, M.A.

Very Rev. John Anderson, M.Div.

Rev. Mark Bartosic, M.Div., S.T.L.

Rev. Mike Betley, M.Div.

Rev. John Brahill, M.Div.

Rev. Paul Burak,: M.Div., S.T.L.

Rev. Thomas Cabala, D.Min. (Cand.)

Rev. Michael Cilibraise, M.Div.

Rev. Paul Connolly, M.A.

Rev. William Corcoran, S.T.L., Ph.D.

Rev. Lawrence Dowling, M.Div., D.Min.

Rev. Isaac Erondu, M.A.

Rev. Edward Fialkowski, M.Div.

Rev. Victor Galier

Msgr. Luis Javier Garcia, J.C.D.

Rev. Gregor Gorsic, M.Div.

Rev. Esteban Hernandez, M.Div.

Rev. Steve Kachel, M.Div.

Rev. Richard Klajbor, M.Div.

Rev. Lam  Le, S.T.L.

Rev. Daniel McCarthy, M.A.

Msgr. Michael Mullen, S.T.B., M.A.

Rev. Woodrow Pace, M.Div.

Rev. Thomas Page, M.A.

Rev. Jerome Pastors, M. Div.

Rev. Joseph Pawlowski, M. Div.

Rev. Domenico Pinti

Rev. Marcos Reyna

Rev. Isamel Sandoval, M.Div.

Rev. Robert Tonelli, M.Div.

Rev. Jason Torba, M.A.

Rev. Edward Upton, D.Min.

Rev. Eduardo Villa, M Div.

Rev. Alan Wierzba, M.Div.

Rev. Richard Yanos, M.Div.


To see this video you need to upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser or download Adobe Flash Player.